College Curriculum Committee

The College Curriculum Committee (CCC) was charged and established in 2017 as a subcommittee of College Exco to review academic policy and curricular proposals as they arise, and to advise Exco accordingly. 

In addition to its function generating recommendations and proposals for College Exco, the College Curriculum Committee also aims to be a resource to the broader College community in a number of ways. Faculty and programs considering curricular changes, seeking guidance on new initiatives, or proposing new programs altogether may find some of the following resources helpful. The Committee co-chairs, listed below, also welcome questions about these and related concerns:

  • CCC Proposal Guidelines: A resource to assist in the development of proposals for new majors, minors, or significant changes to existing majors and minors as well. 
  • College Statement on Academic Credit: An effort to name the essential characteristics of academic credit, reflecting the College’s values and mission, to guide pedagogical practices and to support innovative program development.
  • College Clarification on Academic Majors and Minors: An effort to identify Georgetown’s normative size and scope of academic programs within the degree, reflecting the College’s liberal arts emphasis, to guide curriculum revision and a new proposal. (Contains Bulletin text and CCC rationale for the addition.)

Charge and Membership

The 2017 charge:

The College Curriculum Committee, comprised of representatives from the faculty and dean’s office, advises the College Dean and the College Executive Committee and performs two distinct but related functions:

  • Reviewing proposed programs (minors, majors, certificates, other initiatives) and other curricular changes that would have bearing on College students and faculty, providing endorsements and advice to the Dean and Executive Committee.
  • Proposing principles, standards, and rationales for the composition of the College degree and its components (credits, courses, etc.), with attention to the shape of the curriculum as a whole. These reports are meant to reflect Georgetown University College of Arts & Sciences’ institutional values, and could serve as guideposts for future decision-making.

2021-22 Committee Membership (10 faculty, 4 deans, as required by the College Constitution):

Karen Stohr (PHIL) Co-chair
Tad Howard (COL) Co-chair
Fr. Matt Carnes, SJ (GOVT)
Thom Chiarolanzio (COL)
Bernie Cook (COL)

Corey Fields (SOCI)
Amy Leonard (HIST)
Sue Lorenson (COL)
Mark Maloof (COSC)
Abby Marsh (PSYC) 

Anne O’Neil-Henry (FREN)
Patrick O’Malley (ENGL)
Kim Sellers (MATH)
Martha Weiss (BIOL)

Recent Policy Changes and Program Reviews

CCC recommendations, by year

The committee is charged by Dean Celenza and launched
Drafted and proposed College Statement on Academic Credit (passed 11/12/18)

Simplification of degree requirements, ending the 38-course count (passed 4/15/19)
Provisional COL math/cosc core, after universal science core launched (passed)
New program reviews and endorsements
COL access to NHS Public Health minor (passed)

Normative standards for major and minor credit counts (passed)
Change to the double-counting rule (passed)
Improved rationale for College Social Science core requirement (passed)

Drafted and proposed Guidelines for Program Proposals (passed)
Committee membership and selection process confirmed in the College constitution
New program reviews and endorsements
New BLA degree for Prisons & Justice Initiative (passed, Board approved) 
Tech, Ethics, & Society (3 programs; major, minor, concentration, passed, Board approved)
Minor in Medical Humanities, (passed)
Accelerated BA/MA in Data Analytics, (passed)
Accelerated BA/MA in Italian Studies, (passed)
Grad Certificate in Disability Studies, (passed)
Program changes in Global Medieval Studies (Exco approval not required)

Withdrawal rules for students dropping below full-time (passed)
Eliminating the College four-semester residency requirement (passed)
Eliminating restrictions on class-year for BA/MA courses (passed)
Closure of FLL business coursework, once IBLC is approved (passed)
New program reviews and endorsements
Joint degree in Int’l Business, Language, & Culture (passed, Board approval April 2022)
Major in Korean (passed, Board approved April 2022)
Accelerated BA/BS/MS in Epidemiology, (passed)
Accelerated BA/MA in Learning, Design, Technology (passed)
Minor in Global Health (passed)