Departments and Programs

A   B   C   E   F   G   H   I   J   L   M   P   S   T   W 

African American Studies, Department of    
Robert J. Patterson, Chair 202-687-1324 Location: 318 New North
Linda Blair, Administrative Officer 202-687-8023 Location: 318 New North
Americas Initiative    
John Tutino, Program Director 202-687-6194 Location: 622 Intercultural Center
Kathleen Gallagher, Program Coordinator 202-687-3358 Location: 598-A Intercultural Center
American Studies Program    

Erika Seamon, Program Director


Location: 308 Car Barn

Colva Weissenstein, Administrative Officer

202-687-5545 Location: 308 Car Barn
Anthropology, Department of    
Denise Brennan, Chair 202-687-7327 Location: 308 Car Barn
Laura Chippeaux, Administrative Officer 202-687-4185 Location: 308 Car Barn
Arabic and Islamic Studies, Department of    
Felicitas Opwis, Chair 202-687-5743 Location: 208 Poulton
Meriem Tikue, Administrative Assistant for Financial Affairs 202-687-2735 Location: 201-A Poulton
Art and Art History, Department of    
Al Acres, Chair 202-687-3048 Location: 402 Walsh
Darlene Jones, Administrative Officer 202-687-6957 Location: 102 Walsh
Biology, Department of    
Elena Silva, Chair 202-687-0858 Location: 408 Regents Hall
Business Administration Program  


Jessica Ciani-Dausch, Program Director 202-687-5902 108 White-Gravenor
Catholic Studies Program    
Diane Apostolos-Cappadona, Program Director 202-687-0289 Location: Old Ryan 219
Ed Lee, Program Coordinator    
Chemistry, Department of    
YuYe J. Tong, Chair 202-687-5872

Location: 408-B White-Gravenor

Jacquelyn Pruitt, Administrative Officer 202-687-6470 Location: 228 Reiss
Classics, Department of    
Josiah Osgood, Chair 202-687-


Location: 317 Healy Hall
Chris Brush, Administrative Assistant 202-687-7624 Location: 322 Healy Hall
Cognitive Science Program    
Ali Moghaddam, Program Director 202-687-4804 Location: 311 Car Barn
Molly McGeady, Administrative Officer 202-687-8515 Location: 311 Car Barn
Comparative Literature Program    
Susanna Lee, Acting Program Director 202-687-4254 Location: 417 Intercultural Center
Leslie Byers, Administrative Officer 202-687-3117 Location: 474 Intercultural Center
Computer Science, Department of    
Steven Singer, Interim Chair 202-687-5874

Location: 356 St. Mary's Hall

Sheilynn Brown, Administrative Coordinator 202-687-1793

Location: 355 St. Mary’s Hall

East Asian Languages and Cultures, Department of    
Jingyuan Zhang, Chair 202-687-7309 Location: 306-K Intercultural Center

Maria Dsouza, Department Administrator


Location: 306 Intercultural Center

Eastern Mediterranean Languages Program    
Sylvia Onder, Program Director 202-687-6175  
Economics, Department of    
Francis Vella, Chair 202-687-5573 Location: 580 Intercultural Center
Marcia Suss, Administrative Officer 202-687-6074 Location: 581 Intercultural Center
Education, Inquiry, and Justice, Program in    
Sabrina Wesley-Nero, Program Director 202-687-1503 Location: 660 Intercultural Center
Ed Lee, Program Coordinator    
English, Department of    
Ricardo Ortiz, Chair 202-687-7443 Location: 407 New North
Karen Lautman, Administrator 202-687-0186 Location: 304 New North
Environmental Studies Program    
Tad Howard, Interim Director 202-687-6045 Location: 303 Intercultural Center
Leslie Byers, Administrative Officer 202-687-4117 Location: 474 Intercultural Center
European Studies Certificate Program    
Peter Pfeiffer, Program Director 202-687-5963 Location: 468 Intercultural Center
Film and Media Studies Program    
Bernard Cook, Program Director 202-687-6331 Location: 108 White-Gravenor
Leslie Byers, Program Coordinator 202-687-4117 Location: 474 Intercultural CEnter
French and Francophone Studies, Department of    
Deborah Lesko Baker, Chair 202-687-5699 Location: 417 Intercultural Center
Joan Matus, Administrative Officer 202-687-5717 Location: 416 intercultural Center
German, Department of    
Friederike Eigler, Chair (Fall 2016) 202-687-4599 Location: 465 Intercultural Center
Peter Pfeiffer, Interim Chair (Spring 2017) 202-687-5963 Location: 468 Intercultural Center
Courtney Feldman, Administrative Officer 202-687-6051 Location: 468 Intercultural Center
Government, Department of    
Charles King, Chair 202-687-5907 Location: 658 Intercultural Center
Ileana Aguilar, Administrative Officer 202-687-5958 Location: 681 Intercultural Center
History, Department of    
Bryan McCann, Chair 202-687-5813 Location: 601 Intercultural Center
Djuana Shields, Administrative Officer 202-687-8859 Location: 601 Intercultural Center
Italian, Department of    
Anna De Fina, Chair 202-687-5625 Location: 307-J Intercultural Center
Yulkiana Critchfield, Department Administrator 202-687-5681 Location: 307 Intercultural Center
Journalism Program    
Barbara Feinman Todd, Program Director 202-687-7136 Location: 342 New North
Leslie Byers, Program Coordinator 202-687-4117 Location: 474 Intercultural Center
Justice and Peace, Program on    
Randall Amster, Program Director 202-687-0376 Location: 130 Poulton
Ed Lee, Program Coordinator    
Linguistics, Department of    
Elizabeth Zsiga, Chair 202-687-2238 Location: 226 Poulton
Conor Sinclair, Administrative Officer 202-678-6091 Location: 244 Poulton
Mathematics and Statistics, Department of    
Der-Chen Chang, Chair 202-687-5609

Location: 324 St. Mary’s Hall

Lisa Maloney, Administrative Officer 202-687-1588

Location: 327-A St. Mary’s Hall

Medieval Philosophy, Center of    
Rev. Mark Henninger, S.J., Director 202-687-2103 Location: 215 New North
Sandra Strachan-Vieira, Research Associate   Location: 215 New North
Medieval Studies Program    
David Goldfrank, Program Director 202-687-6190 Location: 616 Intercultural Center
Ed Lee, Program Coordinator 202-687-3117 Location: 474 Intercultural Center
Performing Arts, Department of    
Soyica Colbert, Chair 202-687-3838 Location: 108 Davis Center

Alison Decker, Academic Administrator

202-687-3143 Location: 108 Davis Center
Philosophy, Department of    
William Blattner, Chair 202-687-4258 Location: 240 New North
Carina Olsson, Department Administrator 202-687-7494 Location: 211 New North
Physics, Department of    
Jeffrey Urbach, Chair 202-687-6583 Location: 546 Reiss
Mary Rashid, Administrative Officer 202-687-5938 Location: 506-C Reiss
Political Economy Program    
Nita Rudra, Co-Program Director 202-687-6130 Location: 681 Intercultural Center
Roger Lagunoff, Co-Program Director 202-687-1510

Location: 681 Intercultural Center

Pre-Health Programs    
Ed Meyertholen, Assistant Dean and Director 202-687-0870 Location: 108 White-Gravenor
Mary Beth Connell, Program Coordinator 202-687-4853 Location: 208 Reiss
Psychology, Department of    
Chandan Vaidya, Chair 202-687-4274 Location: 306-E White-Gravenor
Nancy Swartz, Administrative Officer 202-687-4003 Location: 306-N White-Gravenor
Slavic Languages, Department of    
George Mihaychuk, Chair 202-687-7140 Location: 307-H Intercultural Center
Marina Samkharadze, Administrative Assistant 202-687-6147 Location: 307-A2 Intercultural Center
Sociology, Department of    
William McDonald, Chair (Fall 2016)


Location: 209-07 Car Barn
C. Margaret Hall, Chair (Spring 2017) 202-687-3707 Location: 209-07 Car Barn
Hanadi Salih, Administrative Officer 202-687-4184 Location: 209-02 Car Barn
Spanish and Portuguese, Department of    
Gwen Kirkpatrick, Chair 202-687-2014 Location: 403 Intercultural Center
Maria-Elvira Daza, Financial Administrator 202-687-6134 Location: 403 Intercultural Center
Theology, Department of    
Fran Cho, Chair 202-687-6110 Location: 108 New North
Margit Silva, Department Administrator 202-687-6657 Location: 120 New North

Women’s and Gender Studies Program

You-Me Park, Chair 202-687-9325 Location: 456 Intercultural Center
Leslie Byers, Program Coordinator 202-687-3117 Location: 474 Intercultural Center